Salt Square is an old medieval market place placed right next to the Market. It used to be 84,5 meters long and 95 meters wide. It was built after the Mongolians attack in 1242. It was called Salzring or Salzplatz. In 1827 a statue of a field-marshal Blücher was built and the name of the square was changed to Blücherplatz. After WW2 the name was changed again and the statue was destroyed. The north-east corner in adjoins to the Market corner, from the south-east and north-west corners, start two streets each and the last south-west corner is closed. In opposition to the Market, the space on the square is undeveloped. Half of the south wall is taken by the Old Stock designed by Carl Ferdinand Langhans in 1822. What more there are three more historic apartment houses. On the east wall, there is old Trade House from the early 20th century, on the north wall there is a high-rise built-in 1930-32 designed by Heinrich Rump, the building of an old pharmacy Under the Nigro (or Under the Moor) which was rebuilt in 1928 by Adolf Reading in modern style. The last wall, west one is a reconstruction of the buildings that were there in 1800 made in 1947-58.
Under the square, there is a bunker that can hold up to 300 people. During the war, it had its own toilets, canalization and two exits. One of them is in a ladies' room in the underground toilet. The whole complex was designed by Richard Konwiarz.
On Salt Square there is a traditional flower market. In the late 20th century in the middle of the square, a spare and a fountain designed by Adam Wyspiański was built.
See other attractions