St. Cross and St. Bartholomew's church is a unique gothic building with two levels. It was founded by Prince Henry Probus in autumn of 1287 as a gift to end a conflict between him and a bishop Thomas. The body of the prince was buried in this church in 1295 and remained in this building until 1945.
This place has a legend about its creation. The prince to beg for good health for his children swore to a St. Bartholomeo (family patron) church in Ostrów Tumski. During the construction of the church, workers found a weirdly shaped root. It looked like two people praying in front of crucified Jesus. Bishop took it as a good sign and demanded to build a St. Cross church. Prince to comfort ordered to build two churches one on top of the other.
See other attractions